Racing at CBYC
Racing Since 1932

This race report covers our 2011 Fall - Pt. Fermin Inverted Start Charity Regatta which took place on November 5th.

First, Thank You for participating in the Cabrillo Beach Yacht Club Fall Point Fermin Inverted Start Charity Race. We are delighted that you attended and look forward to seeing you for our next Inverted Start race on Sunday, April 1, 2012.

At Cabrillo Beach Yacht Club, our goal is to offer 100 regatta days per year to quench your quest for sailboat racing. We’re happy to host fun and active racing fleets from around the world on any day of the year. We’re like you, we love to race. Need a home for your fleet’s next regatta? Contact us!

After the first winter storm of the year soaked Southern California, Saturday November 5 greeted sailors with crisp sunshine and modest westerly breezes for the Fall edition of Cabrillo Beach Yacht Club’s inverted start race. This year’s benefitting charity was the Cabrillo Beach Youth Sailing Foundation – a foundation committed to funding and delivering youth sailing instruction for the community. 20 racing yachts participated in the event and close competition maximized the fun for everyone. In keeping with the mission of this year’s charity beneficiary, youth would be served in perpetual trophy count of the inverted start race. Kristen Burch sailing Mercury class sloop “Jade” with 3 other Mercury sloop nipping at her heels, took home 3 championship trophies. Frank Dair sailing Cal 20 “I’m A Little Restless” took home the Honeymoon trophy for first Cal 20 to finish.

The CBYC take home and perpetual trophy table was packed for the event and sailors delighted in the awards presented by CBYC Staff Commodore Melis Askew, Rear Commodore Linda Wilson-Grey and Race Committee Chair Dixon Hall.

    Top 7 finishers in a fleet of 20 were:

    1. Brown Sugar, Express 37, Steve Brown
    2. White Knight, Farr 40, Zoltan Katinszky
    3. Odyssey, Beneteau 36.5, Val Gelineau
    4. Electra, J/109, Thomas Brott
    5. Sleeper, Jeanneau 44, Ron Simonson
    6. Tower, Lidgard 45, Doug Grant
    7. Jade, Mercury sloop, Kristen Burch

Club Championship Trophy for first CBYC Monohull to finish was awarded to CBYC’s Zoltan Katinszky and his crew aboard Farr 40 “White Knight”

Greer Trophy for first monohull 20 feet LOA and under to finish was awarded to Kristen Burch, daughter of CBYC Director Mike Burch with her father crewing. Kristen was driving “Jade” a Mercury class sloop.

Pt Fermin Perpetual Trophy for first monohull 20’ to 30’ to finish was awarded to Mario Barron and crew aboard J/29 “Jolly J”.

Ken Davis Trophy for first monohull 31’ to 40’ to finish was awarded to Steve Brown and crew aboard Express 37 “Brown Sugar”

Audrey Brown Trophy for first monohull over 40’ to finish was awarded to Ron Simonson and crew aboard Jeanneau 44 “Sleeper”

Honeymoon Trophy for 1st Cal 20 to finish was awarded to Frank Dair Jr. and crew sailing “I’m A Little Restless”

Smitty’s Mug for 1st Mercury to finish was awarded to Kristen Burch sailing “Jade” with her father, CBYC Director Mike Burch.

Peggy Slater Trophy for 1st Female Skipper to finish was won by Kristen Burch driving Mercury sloop “Jade” with crew Mike Burch.

1st Catalina boat and Last to Finish trophies were won by CBYC Staff Commodore Dale Thompson with his Catalina 34 Mark II “True Luff”.

Racing at CBYC
Copyright 2011 © All Rights Reserved, Cabrillo Beach Yacht Club